The Sysadmins

Tips and tricks from the Sysadmins

Active Directory OU, User and Computer Accidental Deletion

Server 2008 has a neat feature for preventing accidental deletions. It’s enabled by default when creating a new OU, but has to be enabled on users and computers.

New OU

To view the status or to enable/disable this feature, head over to ADUC, view and select advanced features. Right click the OU, User or Computer, select properties and view the object tab.

ADUC Object

If you try and delete a protected item, you will be greeted with the error message “You do not have sufficient privileges to delete %object%, or this object is protected from accidental deletion.”

Error Message

This is a handy feature for those extra important users and computers, or simply to prevent silly mistakes at the OU level.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.